Spandau Ballet Splits Again

The band has once split in the 1990s, later reformed in 2009. However, today Tony Hadley broke the news on Twitter saying:

Due to circumstances beyond my control, it is with deep regret that I am required to state that I am no longer a member of the band Spandau Ballet and as such I will not be performing with the band in the future.

Meanwhile on the official Spandau Ballet website, the following message appeared:

Much to our frustration, Tony had made it clear in September 2016 that he didn’t want to work with the band anymore. This has not changed and 2015 was the last time we were able to perform or work with him. So we have now made the decision to move on as a band. Spandau Ballet

And according to the following article on The Sun website there has been a long and frustrating feud between Tony Hadley and Spandau Ballet which resulted in both sides digging their heels in and not being able to solve their differences. It seems as Tony would like to do small solo gigs rather than return to being the voice of Spandau Ballet. Of course it is just merely a guess, because what are actually causing the differences can be known only by Tony Hadley and the rest of Spandau Ballet. I was never a big Spandau Ballet fan, but I liked their music and I am sad to hear these news. Their songs Gold, True, Through The Barricades are always going to be my eternal favourites. Spandau were a supergroup of the 1980s and had a friendly rivalry with Duran Duran. In 2014, they released a documentary called Soul Boys of the Western World which I have yet to see. Their song Gold has also been featured on 2016’s Sing Street. As for the future of the band, the remaining Spandau Ballet members, Gary Kemp, Martin Kemp, Steve Norman, John Keeble seem to be determined to go on, probably finding a new singer in the future. Whatever Tony and the rest of the Spandau Ballet members will do in the future, I hope for the best for all of them. They are all fantastic people, and I hope the future will be good to all of them.

Leave a comment